top of page
Christie's: exhibition
Christie's: exhibition

Christie's: exhibition

Exhibition "The glue of the phoenix and the broken silk thread: major Vietnamese works from the Melchior Dejouany collection"

Time & Location

08 Jun 2024, 10:00 – 13 Jun 2024, 18:00

Christie's, 9 Av. Matignon, 75008 Paris, France

About the event

From 8 to 13 June from 10 am to 6 pm except 9 June from 2 pm to 6 pm

Free admission


For the centenary of the creation of the Indochina School of Fine Arts, Christie's will be presenting an exhibition devoted to Vietnamese art from 8 to 13 June featuring nine artists, including Lê Phô, Mai Trung Thu and Vu Cao Dàm. 

The Indochina School of Fine Arts was founded in the autumn of 1924 by two artists: Victor Tardieu (1870-1937), a French academic painter, and Nguyễn Vạn Thọ (known as Nam Sơn, 1890-1970), a self-taught Vietnamese artist. These two artist-teachers gave shape to a cultural encounter between East and West. It combines traditional East Asian knowledge and processes with European practices. These artistic worlds and their associated techniques will then feed off each other.

The eleven works presented in the exhibition come from Melchior Dejouany's personal collection, which he has built up over the last ten years. In 2012, he discovered a Vietnamese lacquer work by the artist Boi Tran. He has since developed a passion for Vietnamese art, the diversity of its techniques and the richness of its subjects, and has set out to assemble a collection that represents 100 years of Vietnamese art (1920-2020) in lacquer, silk painting, drawings, oil on canvas and sculpture. "Despite Vietnam's troubled history in the 20th century, it is the incredible delicacy of its art that makes it so special, it is the incredible delicacy, technical mastery and ode to beauty that that emerges from these works", comments Melchior Dejouany.


The 9 artists presented in the exhibition are : Luong Xuan Nhi, Vu Cao Dam, Hoang Tich Chu, Nguyen Trung, Mai Trung Thu, Truong Be, Boi Tran, Nguyên Gia Trí, Lê Phô

Tickets

  • Christie’s: Exhibition

    Exhibition "The glue of the phoenix and the broken silk thread: major Vietnamese works from the Melchior Dejouany collection" Opening times : 8 to 13 June from 10 am to 6 pm except 9 June from 2 pm to 6 pm Free admission

    €0.00

Total

€0.00

Share this event

bottom of page

top of page
Christie’s : exposition
Christie’s : exposition

Christie’s : exposition

Exposition “La colle du phénix et le fil de soie brisé : oeuvres vietnamiennes majeures de la collection Melchior Dejouany”

Heure et lieu

08 juin 2024, 10:00 – 13 juin 2024, 18:00

Christie's, 9 Av. Matignon, 75008 Paris, France

À propos de l'événement

Du 8 au 13 juin de 10h à 18h sauf le 9 juin de 14h à 18h

Entrée libre

Pour célébrer le centenaire de la création de l’Ecole des Beaux-Arts d’Indochine, Christie’s présentera du 8 au 13 juin une exposition consacrée à l’art vietnamien avec pas moins de neuf artistes dont Lê Phô, Mai Trung Thu, Vu Cao Dàm. 

L’école des Beaux-Arts d’Indochine est fondée à l’automne 1924, par deux artistes : Victor Tardieu (1870- 1937), peintre académique français, et Nguyễn Vạn Thọ (dit Nam Sơn, 1890-1970), artiste autodidacte vietnamien. Ces deux artistes pédagogues donnent forme à une rencontre culturelle entre l’Orient et l’Occident. Elle réunit des savoirs et procédés traditionnels de l'Asie orientale avec des pratiques européennes. Ces univers artistiques et leurs techniques associés se nourriront dès lors réciproquement.

Les onze œuvres présentées dans l’exposition proviennent de la collection personnelle de Melchior Dejouany qu’il a constituée ces dix dernières années. En 2012, il découvre une laque vietnamienne réalisée par l’artiste Boi Tran. Il se passionne depuis pour l’art vietnamien, la diversité de ses techniques et la richesse de ses sujets, en s’attachant à réunir une collection qui représente 100 ans d’art vietnamien (1920-2020) entre laque, peinture sur soie, dessins, huile sur toile et sculpture. « En dépit de l’histoire tourmentée du Vietnam au 20ème siècle, c’est l’incroyable délicatesse, maîtrise technique et ode à la beauté qui ressort de ces œuvres » commente Melchior Dejouany.

Billets

  • Christie’s: Exposition

    “La colle du phénix et le fil de soie brisé : oeuvres vietnamiennes majeures de la collection Melchior Dejouany” Horaires : Du 8 au 13 juin de 10h à 18h sauf le 9 juin de 14h à 18h Entrée libre

    0,00 €

Total

0,00 €

Partager cet événement

bottom of page